Affiche du Festival de l'île de Wight

Almost fifty years ago, on Wednesday August 26, 1970, a horde of young people with long hair and unshaven beards were preparing to experience a legendary event that brought a symbolic end to the stormy 1960s: the Island Festival of Wight. Among them, Bernard Rouan, camera in hand, plans to immortalize his birthday in front of the Jimi Hendrix concert. The rest is history …

Discover the album
Concert de Jimi Hendrix au festival de Wight
La Scène du festival de Wight

Peace, Love, and Music

ARRIVED ON THE BARE ISLAND WITHOUT LUGGAGE AND THE BARE FEET” sang Michel Delpech in 1969 in reference to the “beautiful people” gathering since the summer of 1968 on the green island of the south of England in the name of music, love and peace.

Of the three editions, the 1970 festival is certainly the most notable. Although the numbers fluctuate, the Guinness Book estimates that around 600,000 people attended this latest and final edition. The lineup was enough to stir up crowds: Jimi Hendrix, The Who, The Doors, Joni Mitchell, Miles Davis, Supertramp, Jethro Tull, Leonard Cohen, Joan Baez, Chicago, Procol Harum …

The iconic Woodstock documentary was just released in theaters, revealing the legendary atmosphere of the American festival and ending to convince young Europeans to have a similar experience.

Bernard Rouan remembers. The multiple ferries from Southampton and Portsmouth transported festival-goers in much more peaceful conditions than those of Woodstock. Accompanied by his 16-year-old brother, Bernard Rouan takes the initiative to immortalize everything with his Nikon F, “the camera of the time”, he specifies, to perpetuate these ephemeral moments of musical quintessence.

On a stage displaying a large banner “3rd isle of Wight festival of music 1970”, we discover the powerful breath of Miles David in his trumpet, the point raised in a playful jump of John Sebastian or Jimi Hendrix giving his last great concert before going out twenty days later. You can also soak up the good-natured atmosphere where the bodies bask serenely on the ground to attend the concerts, where the thousands of sleeping bags line the surrounding grounds, where there reigns, under an English sun, a feeling of brotherhood despite the crowd.

This peace & love vision is exhibited at the Rouan gallery (Paris 3 °) and is disseminated in a catalog bringing together more than a hundred photographs, as exceptional as they are historic, transmitting this little taste of nostalgia for an era synonymous with sexual and cultural liberation.

Anne-Laure Peressin
Officiel des Galeries & Musées

Affiche du Festival de l'île de Wight

Il y a bientôt cinquante ans, le mercredi 26 août 1970, une horde de jeunes gens aux chevelures longues et aux barbes mal rasées s’apprêtent à vivre un événement mythique venant mettre un terme symbolique aux houleuses années 60 : le Festival de l’île de Wight. Parmi eux, Bernard Rouan, appareil photo à la main, prévoit d’immortaliser le jour de son anniversaire devant le concert de Jimi Hendrix. La suite appartient à l’histoire…

Découvrir les albums
Concert de Jimi Hendrix au festival de Wight
La Scène du festival de Wight

Peace, Love, and Music

« ILS SONT ARRIVÉS DANS L’ÎLE NUE SANS UN BAGAGE ET LES PIEDS NUS » chantait Michel Delpech en 1969 en référence aux « beautiful people » se rassemblant depuis l’été 1968 sur l’île verdoyante du sud de l’Angleterre au nom de la musique, de l’amour et de la paix.

Des trois éditions, le festival de 1970 est certainement le plus notable. Bien que les chiffres fluctuent, le Guinness Book estime qu’environ 600 000 personnes étaient présentes à cette dernière et ultime édition. Le line up avait de quoi attiser les foules : Jimi Hendrix, The Who, The Doors, Joni Mitchell, Miles Davis, Supertramp, Jethro Tull, Leonard Cohen, Joan Baez, Chicago, Procol Harum…

A cela, l’emblématique film documentaire Woodstock venait tout juste de sortir au cinéma, révélant l’ambiance légendaire du festival américain et finissant de convaincre les jeunes européens de vivre une expérience similaire.

Bernard Rouan se souvient. Les multiples ferries afférant de Southampton et Portsmouth acheminaient les festivaliers dans des conditions bien plus paisibles que celles de Woodstock. Accompagné de son jeune frère de 16 ans, Bernard Rouan prend l’initiative de tout immortaliser avec son Nikon F, « l’appareil photo de l’époque » précise-t-il, pour éterniser ces moments éphémères de la quintessence musicale.

Sur une scène déployant une large banderole « 3rd isle of Wight festival of music 1970 », on découvre ainsi le souffle puissant de Miles David dans sa trompette, le point levé dans un saut enjoué de John Sebastian ou d’un Jimi Hendrix donnant son dernier grand concert avant de s’éteindre une vingtaine de jours plus tard. On s’imprègne également de l’atmosphère bon enfant où les corps se prélassent sereinement à même le sol pour assister aux concerts, où les milliers de sacs de couchages tapissent les terrains environnants, où il règne, sous un soleil anglais, un sentiment de fraternité malgré l’affluence.

Cette vision peace & love s’expose à la galerie Rouan (Paris 3°) et se diffuse dans un catalogue rassemblant plus d’une centaine de photographies, aussi exceptionnelles qu’historiques, transmettant ce petit goût de nostalgie d’une époque synonyme de libération sexuelle et culturelle.

Anne-Laure Peressin
Officiel des Galeries & Musées